Peso RateWeatherPhilippines Time

Luzon Territory

Luzon- is the largest and most important of the Philippine islands, with an area of 40,420 sq. mi. (104,688 sq. km.). It is the site of Manila, the nations capital and major metropolis, and of Quezon city. Located on the northern part of the Philippine archipelago, it is bounded by the Philippine Sea (east), Sibuyan Sea (south), and the South China Sea (west). To the north, the Luzon Strait separates Luzon from Taiwan.

Other Ethnic People

The Magahats live in the mountains of Basay, near rivers and streams with houses made from forest materials. Their houses are simple, without partition, and decorated with hanging skulls of the animal horns and weapons.

The Magahats believe in spirits, like most Visayans. They use anting-anting to fight evil spirits. Death, however, is not feared by the Magahats. They believe that it is just a journey from earth to the other side of the world.

People Of The Cagayan Region

The Cagayan Region is made up of the provinces of Cagayan, Isabela, Nueva Viscaya, Quirino, and Batanes in the north. area is 26, 837.7sq. Typhoons are frequent in this region bringing rains throughout the year.

Unlike in the Mountain Region, land in the Cagayan Region is fertile for profitable agriculture. It is no wonder that crops such as rice, corn, and tobacco, and fruits and vegetables, are produced in amounts that exceed the community requirements.

The Bagobos

The Bagobos are another minority group found in Davao del sur, and in some parts of Davao de Norte and along the Sarangani Strait. They live in houses built on the slopes of mountains. Such a location for a Bagobo is convenient because he can easily see the approach of an enemy.

The Visayas Island

Visayas, an island group, Central Philippines, between the Philippines (east) and Sulu (west) seas. The densely populated group of seven large and several hundred small islands constitutes and ethnolinguistic region of 23, 582 sq. mi. 961, 077, defined bu the dominance of the four major Visayan dialects: Waray-waray, Cebuano, Hiligaynon, Aklanon, Karay-a.

The Visayan community lies between Luzon and Mindanao. Their community is made of Western Visayas- Panay and Romblon, Central Visayas - Cebu, Negros Oriental and Negros Occidental and Bohol; and Eastern Visayas- eyte and Samar with small close to these two larger islands.



Copyright © 2023 Living In The Philippines. All Rights Reserved.