Peso RateWeatherPhilippines Time

University of the Visayas

University of the Visayas established in 1919 as Visayan Institute. It's philosophy, amor servitum humanitas promotes the development of love, leadership, and service. Its mission is to provide educational opportunity to all, especially the poor but deserving members of the community. The university has five accredited programs by the Philippine, Association of Colleges and Universities - Commission on Accreditation, namely: Arts and Sciences, Commerce, and Education-reaccredited Level III; and Nursing and Maritime Programs-Level II. Last October 1, 1998 the institution applied for ISO 9001 certification. Its quality system manuals passed documentary review last February 26, 1999.

University of San Carlos

The University of San Carlos is a Catholic institution of learning that embodies the principles of academic discipline of San Carlos Borromeo and the missionary charism of the Society of the Divine Word (SVD).

We aim to develop competent and socially responsible professionals and life-long learners in an environment that fosters excellence in the academic core processes of teaching learning, research, and community extension service.

Our mission is to provide timely, relevant and transformative academic programs responsive to the needs of the local, national and global communities in a rapidly changing world.

Cebu Normal University

The present Cebu Normal University was originally a Cebu Normal School, which started as a secondary normal school in 1915 as an adjunct to Cebu Provincial High School, offering a two-year secondary curriculum for its third and fourth year students.

In June 1924, it opened its doors as a secondary normal school, offering the four-year secondary normal curriculum until 1935.

The four-year secondary normal curriculum was changed to two-year college curriculum in June 1936 until 1941 when the World War II broke out.

Southwestern University

Southwestern University is probably the only school in the Philippines that started operation in summer. It was founded as Southwestern Colleges in the summer of 1946 when the country was still reeling from the destruction of the Second World War. The Founders were Don Matias Hipolito Chavez Aznar, II and his wife Doña Anunciacion Barcenilla Aznar, both pharmacists.

The country then was in the process of rehabilitation, and the philanthropic couple saw the difficulty of the masses in the pursuit of an education that was disrupted by war. Therefore, they decided on establishing a school within the reach of the common people.

Top 20 Universities/Colleges

This data is a result of the study conducted by the Professional Regulation Commission (PRC) and the Commission on Higher Education (CHED), based on the average passing in Board Examinations of all courses of all universities and colleges in the Philippines. The study is being concluded every ten (10) years, and the result of the first study from 1992 - 2001, Eleven (11) schools came from Luzon, two from the Visayas and seven from Mindanao.



Copyright © 2023 Living In The Philippines. All Rights Reserved.